three hundred sixty

26/01/2010

Thompson’s heading Downtown. The Auteur’s fucked off long since to tear up the meatpacking district. Morley’s sidetracked by a beam of light coming from a street corner in Williamsburg a river distant. I’m left outside of Veselka’s with Johnson, after Nick & Norah melt inside.

“Telling stories is telling lies.”
“Lies aren’t always bad things.”
“I never said they were.”

And while he pitches uptown I’m left on the corner of four points wondering where to head. Little lines I should have said come back to me about cultures we dip in and out of, about channels we create. I’ve populated a landscape with the shape of some people I never knew, some of whom I can’t know. I’ve wound up being more honest with them than I expected. How did I start a story here?

